#2

…in which Helen ceases to talk about interrailing at last, the awesome power of nature and the insignificance of man…

IMG_7190

I was planning my next few blog entries when I came across the around the world reading challenge.

I love travelling. I think everybody should travel whenever they can, if they are able to. It’s a running joke among pretty much anyone who knows me, actually, that I can’t stop talking about the time I went interrailing. Well, I didn’t know you went interrailing, Helen, they say, you never mentioned it. Some have even gone so far as to compare me to that gap yah video. I promise you I am not that annoying. And I have never, probably, possibly… mentioned ‘the awesome power of nature and the insignificance of man’ (although I can say, without a doubt, that I have ‘chundered’ all around Europe. I’m not sure that this is necessarily something to be ashamed of).

Anyway… I was thinking about reading and travelling and how linked they are. Well, for me anyway. I think it’s cool how you can read a book when you are away from home and that book will always remind you of that place. Slaughterhouse 5, unfortunately, will always remind me of sitting on a hot, sticky bus for 15 hours, slowly losing the feeling in my left bum cheek. If anyone has any books that remind them of places they’ve been, or any travel book recommendations, I would love to read them.

For my first around the world challenge book, I’m reading the Nobel Prize winning The Atom Station, by Icelandic writer Halldór Laxness. I would really appreciate any recommendations for books from any of the other five continents, so comment below!

8 thoughts on “#2

  1. I can’t read on a bus or in a car as it makes me feel queasy – I wish I could – but I know what you mean. It helps if the associations actually complement each other which mine often don’t. For example, now you mention it, I associate Mississippi with science fiction for no very good reason other than I often seem to be reading it when I visit after picking up a book at the airport then finding the films are too good to miss!

    Like

    Reply
  2. After stumbling upon your blog on the Community Pool post….. I LOVE your blog!

    And I would definitely recommend A Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill, a Canadian! It’s a fictional book about one girl’s experience from Africa to slavery to…. yeah….

    Like

    Reply
    • Wow thank you for your lovely words! Yes, I was just looking for a book to read actually so I will definitely read it 🙂 thanks for the reccomendation!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Pingback: This One Time I Went Interrailing… | in which helen

Leave a Reply

